-->Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar
-->Installation/Post Installation Tutorial [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Useful Links [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Olarila Images - Updated images [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Guides and Tutorials [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Clover Folder for All Chipsets [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->DSDT Patch Requests [Local Link Removed for Guests]

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post Reply
Pentothal.Z
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 11:55
CPU: i7-3770
Motherboard: FUJITSU D2990-A2
GPU: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Mini

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by Pentothal.Z » 28 Aug 2019, 02:02

Ok people, finally I managed to get a Crucial mx500 ssd so I cloned my old hdd on the new ssd using CCC.

Then I installed clover 5058 on the new ssd and copied the EFI folder from the old hdd.

The problem is that when I try to boot from the ssd I just get a blinking cursor.

If I boot the system from my old hdd the system boots up but I would like to erase the old hdd and use it only as storage.

Anyone able to help?

Thanks in advance
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14436
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by MaLd0n » 28 Aug 2019, 14:33

Pentothal.Z, install clover into ESP with boot0ss, work for uefi and legacy mode
:guitar[External Link Removed for Guests]:guitar-[Local Link Removed for Guests]:guitar

Problems with Paypal Donate? Check [Local Link Removed for Guests]

-Donated? Send me one PM-
Pentothal.Z
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 11:55
CPU: i7-3770
Motherboard: FUJITSU D2990-A2
GPU: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Mini

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by Pentothal.Z » 28 Aug 2019, 14:54

MaLd0n Thanks for your help! How do I enable trim?
Clover or terminal

Thanks again MaLd0n
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14436
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by MaLd0n » 28 Aug 2019, 15:26

Pentothal.Z, clover or terminal :D
:guitar[External Link Removed for Guests]:guitar-[Local Link Removed for Guests]:guitar

Problems with Paypal Donate? Check [Local Link Removed for Guests]

-Donated? Send me one PM-
Pentothal.Z
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 11:55
CPU: i7-3770
Motherboard: FUJITSU D2990-A2
GPU: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Mini

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by Pentothal.Z » 28 Aug 2019, 16:27

Thanks MaLd0n :D
I did some disk benchmarks.......a bit disappointed I thought it would have been faster. Any Idea why? TRIM has been enabled via terminal.
I get 247.8 MB/s write and 266.2 MB/s read......any idea why it's so slow?
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14436
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by MaLd0n » 28 Aug 2019, 18:00

Pentothal.Z, check if ur mobo have a sata 2 port, use ever in sata 3 port
:guitar[External Link Removed for Guests]:guitar-[Local Link Removed for Guests]:guitar

Problems with Paypal Donate? Check [Local Link Removed for Guests]

-Donated? Send me one PM-
Pentothal.Z
Posts: 13
Joined: 22 Jul 2019, 11:55
CPU: i7-3770
Motherboard: FUJITSU D2990-A2
GPU: GeForce GTX 1060 6GB Mini

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by Pentothal.Z » 29 Aug 2019, 01:17

It looks like I have sata 2

Vendor: Intel
Product: 6 Series Chipset
Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
Physical Interconnect: SATA
Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14436
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

Blinking cursor after cloning HDD to SSD

Post by MaLd0n » 29 Aug 2019, 02:51

Pentothal.Z, ye, sata 2(3 Gigabit) :shock:

sata 3 is 6 Gigabit
:guitar[External Link Removed for Guests]:guitar-[Local Link Removed for Guests]:guitar

Problems with Paypal Donate? Check [Local Link Removed for Guests]

-Donated? Send me one PM-
Post Reply

Return to “High Sierra (10.13)”