-->Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar
-->Installation/Post Installation Tutorial [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Useful Links [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Olarila Images - Updated images [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Guides and Tutorials [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Clover Folder for All Chipsets [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->DSDT Patch Requests [Local Link Removed for Guests]

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post Reply
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 03 Jan 2019, 04:28

Hello everyone,

I am new to this board but im in need of some help.

These is my laptop:
ASUS N53SV
i7 2670QM
512GB SSD
Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M
(computer originally with 720p panel but replaced it with 1080p)

Now, I have been running OSX Yosemite (10.10.5) for years on this laptop with no problem. my issue is that i tried to upgrade to High sierra and all I got was an error on the screen. so i gave up. Now i'm trying to upgrade to mojave but i have read that HD3000 support has been dropped.

I have downloaded both High Sierra and Mojave

any suggestions as to how should i proceed to try to upgrade ?

Can i go up to Mojave and if so, is there a guide you can point me to that i can use to build an installer USB for my machine ?

Thanks in advance for your help
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15464
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by MaLd0n » 03 Jan 2019, 12:09

Mister3000, post one photo here with error screen

use high sierra and avoid some problems
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Problems with Paypal? Check Here [Local Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Useful Links [Local Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Olarila Hackintosh Builds [Local Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 03 Jan 2019, 17:59

ok,
thanks for your response.. i'm going with high sierra as instructed.

I created a usb install using unishit and just the standard settings.. inject intel
However i gt an error message.
As a side note when my regular clover for yosemite comes up it looks high definition.. but when the clover i just created for install usb comes up the image is big.. dont know if related. here is a photo of my error.

Image

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
erroruser
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: 24 Apr 2018, 21:12
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus
GPU: Sapphire rx 5700 XT

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by erroruser » 03 Jan 2019, 18:12

Mister3000, use this image unishit is unreliable
[Local Link Removed for Guests]
Asus z390-A, i9 9900k, Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, sapphire rx 590, fractal celcius s36
:superman :superman
HP Notebook - 15-ay028ca (Touch), 16 GB 2133 MHz DDR4, Intel HD Graphics 520 1536 MB
Asus z97-c i5, i5 4460, 32 GB 1648 MHz DDR3, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, Corsair H75 Liquid CPU Cooler
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 05 Jan 2019, 02:48

Hello again,
as instructed here i went ahead and downloaded the image (5.5GB) but when trying to boot from it it didn't work
then i downloaded the clover folder sandy bridge (mobile) and copied that to my own install usb.

SUCCESS !! i was able to boot. however when it got to the install screen all i got was a bunch of distorted colors. so i used my old patched dsdt for 1080p and that worked. i have now successfully installed high sierra.

These are the issues im having now.

- boot up from the install usb is not always successful. some times i get the same error message i was getting from the installation image.

-----------
ERROR !!! Load prelinked kernel with status 0x80000000000009
Error loading kernel cache (0x9)
------------

- internal keypad and trackpad doesn't work. i have to use usb mouse and keyboard

- even though i have the sound icon enabled and i can adjust the volume, no sound can be heard through speakers

-USB3 port not working.

I am attaching pictures.
I have not installed clover yet to my internal harddrive SSD as i'm waiting for your guidance on how to resolve these issues.

can you guys point me in the right direction ..
should i try and find kexts to fix these or are these clover options i need to enable ?

I would like to get things working as best as possible before i submit my dsdt for proper patching / best tuning.

Thanks again for the help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
erroruser
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: 24 Apr 2018, 21:12
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus
GPU: Sapphire rx 5700 XT

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by erroruser » 05 Jan 2019, 03:08

Mister3000, try this: install clover efi boot loader to main drive
[External Link Removed for Guests]
replace clover folder in efi/efi folder
[Local Link Removed for Guests]
repair permissions
[Local Link Removed for Guests]
reboot an hope things work better
Asus z390-A, i9 9900k, Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, sapphire rx 590, fractal celcius s36
:superman :superman
HP Notebook - 15-ay028ca (Touch), 16 GB 2133 MHz DDR4, Intel HD Graphics 520 1536 MB
Asus z97-c i5, i5 4460, 32 GB 1648 MHz DDR3, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, Corsair H75 Liquid CPU Cooler
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 05 Jan 2019, 21:09

Ok, after lots of trial and error i figure out where the issue is coming from.
By using my old patched DSDT i was getting a full 1080p image however for some reason it was conflicting with other stuff. i removed the patched DSDT and now the keyboard and trackpad from the laptop are working.

my question is, how do i get the full 1080p image without using my previous DSDT.aml ?
is that something i need to enable on the config.plist or should i just request for a new dsdt to be patched ?

Thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
erroruser
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: 24 Apr 2018, 21:12
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus
GPU: Sapphire rx 5700 XT

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by erroruser » 05 Jan 2019, 21:33

Mister3000, every device needs its own dsdt cause use on other devices causes conflicts
Asus z390-A, i9 9900k, Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, sapphire rx 590, fractal celcius s36
:superman :superman
HP Notebook - 15-ay028ca (Touch), 16 GB 2133 MHz DDR4, Intel HD Graphics 520 1536 MB
Asus z97-c i5, i5 4460, 32 GB 1648 MHz DDR3, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, Corsair H75 Liquid CPU Cooler
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 05 Jan 2019, 22:52

ok i guess you are saying that the way to correct the resolution issue is through dsdt and not the config.plist
ok, i attached an external monitor and was able to complete the install. problem is that once install is completed, when it goes to the setup screen (setup you account, etc) the image goes black.
if the screen is all black i can't run the "run me" app to request a dsdt to be patch.

is it ok to load my old dsdt just so that i can use the run me app and submit for a new dsdt, or will that interfere with the "run me" app ?

BTW:
i understand that donations are appreciated for requesting dsdt patch, and i'm prepared so send my donation.

Thanks for all the help
User avatar
erroruser
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: 24 Apr 2018, 21:12
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus
GPU: Sapphire rx 5700 XT

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by erroruser » 05 Jan 2019, 23:07

Mister3000, i have encountered that some time if unplug power an replug power seems to help in some cases
Asus z390-A, i9 9900k, Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, sapphire rx 590, fractal celcius s36
:superman :superman
HP Notebook - 15-ay028ca (Touch), 16 GB 2133 MHz DDR4, Intel HD Graphics 520 1536 MB
Asus z97-c i5, i5 4460, 32 GB 1648 MHz DDR3, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, Corsair H75 Liquid CPU Cooler
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 08 Jan 2019, 17:23

Hello everyone,
I was able to finally complete my install.
e,

i was able to install my system using the image downloaded from this site. Had to do some changes to the config.plist to enable the 1080p. (enable dual link and chose mac 8,2 from SMBIOS)

my system:
ASUS N53SV Sandy Bridge
i7 2670QM
8GB Ram
HD3000 / GEForce GT540M discrete graphics
512GB SSD

I Had Yosemite installed prior to now upgrading to High Sierra and everything was working.
I Now have the following NOT working.

-WIFI / Bluetooth
-the USB 3.0 Port
-Sleep ( i invoked sleep from the menu and the screen went blank but it did not went to sleep and i had to restart)
-if i choose SHUTDOWN from the menu the screen goes blank and the fan goes on really loud but it never shuts off however if i choose restart, it properly shuts down and restarts.

I also don't think the CPU is properly tuned.

As of now, i don't have a DSDT file on my clover folder.

My question:
I thought that by submitting to get a patched dsdt will resolve issues.
Should I try to work out issues before I could get a patch dsdt ?

Thanks

more than happy to send my donation.

thanks in advance.
User avatar
erroruser
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: 24 Apr 2018, 21:12
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus
GPU: Sapphire rx 5700 XT

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by erroruser » 08 Jan 2019, 17:36

Mister3000, -WIFI / Bluetooth these 2 guides
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
-the USB 3.0 Port can be done after dsdt patching
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]
08 Jan 2019, 17:23
-Sleep ( i invoked sleep from the menu and the screen went blank but it did not went to sleep and i had to restart)
-if i choose SHUTDOWN from the menu the screen goes blank and the fan goes on really loud but it never shuts off however if i choose restart, it properly shuts down and restarts.
should be fixed with dsdt patching
[Local Link Removed for Guests]
Asus z390-A, i9 9900k, Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, sapphire rx 590, fractal celcius s36
:superman :superman
HP Notebook - 15-ay028ca (Touch), 16 GB 2133 MHz DDR4, Intel HD Graphics 520 1536 MB
Asus z97-c i5, i5 4460, 32 GB 1648 MHz DDR3, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, Corsair H75 Liquid CPU Cooler
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 08 Jan 2019, 21:31

Thank you.

I’ll get on it and then request dsdt
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 09 Jan 2019, 18:44

hello, everyone..

This hackingtosh install has been the toughest for me.. don't know why but process has been painstaking so thank you again for all the support.
I have gotten bluetooth working, but i cannot get my atheros 9285 to work.
after dropping toledaARPT.ket on my EFI/CLOVER/KEXT/OTHER WIFI network comes up but all i got is "scanning networks" but nothing shows up.

I know the card works, because i had it working under YOSEMITE.

after doing a google search i found that the info.list file in contents info.l=plist pci168c,2b should be the right string and thats already the case.

tried a different guide and used kext installer to install airportatheros40 and that resulted in no wifi hardware detected.

running out of searches here ..

any thoughts ?

thanks
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 09 Jan 2019, 20:15

Ok, found this under patches..

but i dont know where does it goes ..
is it a config.plist patch ?

---------
one last thing.. is there a miniPCIe card that will give me wifi+Bluetooth natively ?
Dell 1510 keeps coming up but some say no bluetooth is included.


thanks
# Maintained by: toleda for: github.com/toleda/wifi_ar9380-ar928x
# File: arpt1-ar928x-ar9380_v2.txt
# Credit: MasterChef, PikeRAlpha, THeKiNG
#
# Atheros AR9380/AR9280/AR9285/AR9287 WiFi dsdt edits
# Verify IOReg/pci168c device @1C,6/RP07 otherwise, edit patch file:
# Find: RP07
# Replace All: name (name = IOReg/pci168c device name, RP01, BR01, PEX1, etc.)
#
# If no PXSX, manually add Device (ARPT) after Name (_ADR, 0x001C000x) to dsdt and
# edit patch file:
# Find: PXSX
# Replace All: ARPT
# dsdt edit looks like:
# Device (name)
# {
# Name (_ADR, 0x001C000x)
# Device (ARPT)
#
# 1. Insert device ARPT dsdt injection
into device Label PXSX parent_label RP07 replace_content begin
Name (_ADR, Zero)\n
Name (_SUN, One)\n
Name (_PRW, Package (0x02) {0x09,0x04})\n
Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)\n
{\n
If (LEqual (Arg2, Zero)) { Return (Buffer() { 0x03 } ) }\n
Return (Package()\n
{\n
"AAPL,slot-name","AirPort",\n
"built-in", Buffer () {0x00},\n
"device-type","AirPort",\n
"model","Atheros AR9x8x 802.11 a/b/g/n Wireless Network Controller",\n
"name", "AirPort Extreme",\n
"compatible","pci168c,30"\n
})\n
}\n
end;
into definitionblock code_regex . insert
begin Store ("arpt1-ar928x-ar9380_v2 dsdt edits, github.com/toleda", Debug) end
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 09 Jan 2019, 22:36

Nevermind...
Not wasting anymore time on this.
I already order a new WiFi/Bluetooth mini pci-e card AW-CE123H

Thanks
Mister3000
Posts: 21
Joined: 03 Jan 2019, 04:12
CPU: i7 2670QM
Motherboard: ASUS N53SV
GPU: Intel HD3000/Nvidia GT540M

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by Mister3000 » 22 Jan 2019, 02:12

well then,
just when i thought i was all set..

here is where i am:
I replaced the atheros card with the AW-CE123H combo card and now have wifi/bluetooth working.

then i updated to high sierra 10.13.6 and now all i get is black screen after boot up.

Have read much about it, and all i can find is that i need the intelfixup kext. however that kext its already part of whatevergreen and lilu, both of those kexts are already on my efi folder since i'm using the folder downloaded for sandy bridge notebooks in this forum.

Any ideas whats causing the black screen after upgrading from 10.13.2 to 10.13.6 ?

HD3000 intel graphics / GT540M Discrete graphics
sandy bridge ASUS N53SV i7

Thanks
User avatar
erroruser
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 499
Joined: 24 Apr 2018, 21:12
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus
GPU: Sapphire rx 5700 XT

ASUS N53SV MOJAVE Install

Post by erroruser » 22 Jan 2019, 04:24

try this [Local Link Removed for Guests]
Asus z390-A, i9 9900k, Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16GB DDR4 3200MHz, sapphire rx 590, fractal celcius s36
:superman :superman
HP Notebook - 15-ay028ca (Touch), 16 GB 2133 MHz DDR4, Intel HD Graphics 520 1536 MB
Asus z97-c i5, i5 4460, 32 GB 1648 MHz DDR3, Radeon RX 560 4096 MB, Corsair H75 Liquid CPU Cooler
Post Reply

Return to “Guides and tutorials”