-->Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar
-->Installation/Post Installation Tutorial [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Useful Links [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Olarila Images - Updated images [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Guides and Tutorials [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Clover Folder for All Chipsets [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->DSDT Patch Requests [Local Link Removed for Guests]

How to patch AppleHDA

User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 06 Oct 2013, 13:44

@telanx
if you use the flags npci=0x2000/3000
delete them and restart this flag disables the audio in 10.8.5.
[External Link Removed for Guests]
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 06 Oct 2013, 14:32

Mirone wrote:@telanx
if you use the flags npci=0x2000/3000
delete them and restart this flag disables the audio in 10.8.5.
Dear Mirone:
You are right, I am using the flags npci=0x2000 in clover config.plist.
I have already to del this flag, and reboot, but it is still not working.

but I have a concern on my clover boot loader, there is some problem on config.plist, so, I am asking another guy who has the same audio codec, and use chameleon to boot OSX, after he tried this kext, I will let you know the result.

by the way, is there any other suggestions besides deleting the flags.? any other reason to prevent the kext working?

ps:I am using the OSX 10.8.5(12F45), with Clover Ver. 1958.(UEFI boot)
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 06 Oct 2013, 14:45

@telanx
I just think its weird codec
shows 111d76e in codec_dump
where did you get 111d76e7?
[External Link Removed for Guests]
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 06 Oct 2013, 15:50

Mirone wrote:@telanx
I just think its weird codec
shows 111d76e in codec_dump
where did you get 111d76e7?

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

Codec: IDT 92HD90BXX
Address: 0
Vendor Id: 0x111d76e7
from codec_dump.txt, it said 111d76e7, and I checked the codec ID in Windows7, it also said the codec ID is 111d76e7.

I attached two file, one is from my codec(Dell E6320)
codec_dump-E6320.txt.zip
, and the other is from the other guy(Dell E6420)
Codec-E6420.txt.zip
, this two laptop used the same chipset intel QM67, and the same Audio codec IDT 92HD90BXX(111d76e7).

for your reference.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 06 Oct 2013, 15:59

this codec is really wired, currently, I am using this kext for driving my audio card instead of using a VoodooHDA.

Code: [Local Link Removed for Guests]

Sorry, the file is large than 1M, so i couldn't upload, you can download it from this link [url]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/6897343/Shared/111d76e7%20Driver.zip[/url]
and I checked the configdata, layout, pathmaps from attached kext, and I tried to add those values into AppleHDA.kext, because those values were proved to be work for my audio card in attached kexts. but unfortunately, it doesn't work at all either....

just for your reference.
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 09 Oct 2013, 13:07

Mirone wrote:@telanx
I just think its weird codec
shows 111d76e in codec_dump
where did you get 111d76e7?
I checked with the guy who use dell E6420(has the same Motherboard and Audio Codec), it doesn't work either, he use the chameleon without ncpi=2000 flag.
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 09 Oct 2013, 13:58

@telanx
tonight you upload a kext for you to test.
[External Link Removed for Guests]
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 09 Oct 2013, 15:19

Mirone wrote:@telanx
tonight you upload a kext for you to test.
I tried your kext, and one kext which I modified with the parameters from the kext i currently used, ( this kext used a legacy fakeapplehda method, download link:[External Link Removed for Guests]).
but all failed.
any other kext you want me to check?

this is really a difficult codec, which I barely find a solution till now.(most of other IDT Codec have a solution now) -_-!
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 09 Oct 2013, 22:38

@telanx
try this: [External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
zetarun
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Aug 2012, 03:53

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by zetarun » 10 Oct 2013, 11:42

Dear Mirone,

I have spend I have spend days and days now looking into the patching process and I am stuck ( as perhaps most people ) at the Platforms.xml patching. I have extracted everything that was required and I am frustrated with myself as I cannot see the three elements in order to calculate the path to my internal speakers and my mic. I am using ML 10.8.5 on a Toshiba L630-14C my codec is Conexant cx20585 (together with an IntelHD). As I have tried various kexts that didn't prove useful I have decided to patch the genuine AppleHDA 2.4.7 but I cannot figure out the last step, could you please have a look and advise me how to proceed, please?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 10 Oct 2013, 12:15

@zetarun
[Local Link Removed for Guests]
use as a basis the pathmap
kext with this codec similar to yours,
correct the values ​​needed.
[External Link Removed for Guests]
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 10 Oct 2013, 13:33

Mirone wrote:@telanx
try this: [External Link Removed for Guests]
HI, Mirone:
It finally worked for me. Yeah! Thank you very much!
Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 下午10.49.18.png
It seems that the Mic didn't work, but I think the pathmap between Mic and LineIn is opposite, maybe I could get it work by change them.
The Headphone didn't work either, maybe the pin config Data for Headphone still need to be modified?

I checked your kext, and find there are two different between Ver.2 and Ver.3. one is the Pin Config Data changed, the other is Patch Map for Internal Speaker changed.

1. For the Pin Config Data:(I summarized those Versions...)
Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 下午9.24.41.png
a. You changed lots of numbers. I am wondering why you make this changes to enable the kext? Could you please make some explanation for it?
b. And the Data 0x0a is for IntSpeakers ? 0x0b is for Mic? 0x0d is for Line In? 0x0f is for headphone? right?

2. for the Patch map:
Screen Shot 2013-10-10 at 下午9.29.33.png
You changed the IntSpeaker's pathmap from 13-->19 to 13-->28-->27-->19. also changed the LineIn and Mic's pathmap ( I can understand it)

Is that all changes between Ver.2 and Ver.3?

Thanks again, you are the MAN!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 10 Oct 2013, 15:06

@Telanx
You can try to fix the Mic based on your data
I tried different things and I have lost myself
but now it works you can make fine adjustments alone.
I taught you the way
but this is a guide to "Do it yourself".
all the bast!!

Headphone: 13-->28-->27-->19
Speaker: 11-->28-->27-->20

try this!
[External Link Removed for Guests]
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 12 Oct 2013, 14:01

Mirone wrote:@Telanx
You can try to fix the Mic based on your data
I tried different things and I have lost myself
but now it works you can make fine adjustments alone.
I taught you the way
but this is a guide to "Do it yourself".
all the bast!!

Headphone: 13-->28-->27-->19
Speaker: 11-->28-->27-->20

try this!
Dear Mirone:
Sorry to reply to you so late, I am so busy these days. :-)
I am so sorry to make you misunderstanding, I didn't meant to push you, I just not very quite understand about the Verb Data. so I just want to know why :-)
With your help and suggestions, I have already updated the kext to Ver.4, and test by myself on my Dell E6320, and finally the IntMic, IntSpeakers, Headphone could all work.
Thank you very much! Really appreciate your great help!
The Ver.4 kext: [External Link Removed for Guests]

1. IntMic
IntMic.png
2. IntSpeaker
IntSpeaker.png
3. Headphone(You must insert the headphone into jack, system will exchange them automatic)
HeadPhone.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
telanx
Posts: 10
Joined: 01 Nov 2012, 01:52

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by telanx » 12 Oct 2013, 14:04

Base on your Kext, I put the relevant information for this Codec(IDT 92HD90BXX 111d76e7) below, hope it could help the following people who has the same codec.

1. Pin Complex(Verb Data)
Pin Complex.png
2. Layout & Pathmaps:
Layout & Pathmap.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 12 Oct 2013, 14:06

@telanx
Yes, the headphone is autodetect, as well as external microphone.
Enjoy the good sound!
[External Link Removed for Guests]
zetarun
Posts: 2
Joined: 31 Aug 2012, 03:53

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by zetarun » 15 Oct 2013, 06:01

Dear Mirone,

hi... after my last post I've tried virtually any configuration that seemed logical, however none of it worked. Basically at first I tried just changing the cx20583 codec based on my path map but as I don't have the cx20583 path map that you have used I only guessed whether or not my values are correct.

At first the only noticeable difference was that most of your connections were attached to Node 19, so I thought that it is the Mixer and maybe changing only the values of Node 19 -> Node 36 as it turns is my mixer might be sufficient, but no.

MIC internal 23 14 24 hex
35 20 36 dec

MiC Jack 1b 17 16 hex
27 23 22 dec

Audio Out fixed 1f 10 24 hex
31 16 36 dec

Audio Out Jack 19 10 24 hex
25 16 36 dec

but there are other possible paths as well, and the internal mic has only 1 physical connection.

Any suggestions, please?
born2bkilled
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Jul 2012, 13:30

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by born2bkilled » 19 Oct 2013, 03:05

could anyone post a mediafire link to verbit by signal64? his site is gone and i cant download it. thanks guys.

Edit: Nevermind, i found a copy, now i am picking my way through the platform xml

very complicated! :)
User avatar
Mirone
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1749
Joined: 15 Jun 2011, 14:22
CPU: Intel Core i7-8700k
Motherboard: GA-Z370M Aorus Gaming
GPU: Radeon RX 560 - 4GB

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by Mirone » 19 Oct 2013, 16:51

born2bkilled wrote:could anyone post a mediafire link to verbit by signal64? his site is gone and i cant download it. thanks guys.

Edit: Nevermind, i found a copy, now i am picking my way through the platform xml

very complicated! :)
the end of the Tab
has all necessary tools even a folder codegraph ready.
Look carefully the next time.
[External Link Removed for Guests]
born2bkilled
Posts: 3
Joined: 31 Jul 2012, 13:30

Re: How to patch AppleHDA

Post by born2bkilled » 19 Oct 2013, 18:04

Hmmmm, not a very successful couple of days :cry:

i cant get AppleHDA working with my setup, after carefully following all the instructions with no real errors or problems.

i cant get HDMI audio working through DSDT (although i am sure the dsdt is working, as i now have sleep working!)

i just cant get anything to show up in the sound setup tab in system profile, although IOReg has references to HDEF and HDAU.
(admittedly i have no idea what i am looking at in IOReg, so i dont know what these references mean!)
AppleHDA just refuses to load, saying the privileges are wrong when trying to force it with kextload.
I am not too bothered about AppleHDA as i have a copy of voodooHDA which i think works with this system, but the HD audio is something i really need due to my speaker setup.
(PC --> HDTV --> 16ch mixing desk --> studio monitor speakers)

My problem is that i am not up to date with my hardware...

OSX 10.8.5
- Asus P5KPL AM-EPU Motherboard (AMI BIOS)
- VIA VT1708S Codec
- Asus HD6670 2GB Gfx Card
- Core2Quad CPU

would anyone be willing to take a look at it for me? see if they can spot what i have done wrong?

i have zipped up everything i can think of that i have needed for this, all the codec dumps, verbs, untouched dsdt, modded dsdt, untouched AppleHDA and modded AppleHDA, copy of IOReg and all the tools i was using.

[External Link Removed for Guests]

I understand everyone here has a real life and job, so im not expecting anyone to rush to help. but if someone has a spare minute, id be pretty damn thankful for your help!
Post Reply

Return to “Guides and tutorials”