-->Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar
-->Installation/Post Installation Tutorial [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Useful Links [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Olarila Images - Updated images [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Guides and Tutorials [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Clover Folder for All Chipsets [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->DSDT Patch Requests [Local Link Removed for Guests]

DSDT Patching

Post Reply
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

DSDT Patching

Post by Cassio » 01 Nov 2011, 21:00

How to apply a patch using [Local Link Removed for Guests]



If you will apply several patches you can compile only once, after all patches are applied.

When applying a patch, check the before/after tabs and try to understand what is being changed and why.

Important: always start from an original DSDT. Don't use "extract DSDT" if you booted using a patched dsdt.aml from other PC. If you can't boot without a patched DSDT, use Windows or Linux to extract the original DSDT from BIOS.

If you update BIOS, most likely you will have to patch DSDT again, so it's a good idea to create a full patch, with all needed patches (separated by ";"), like the many examples [Local Link Removed for Guests].


Patches

[Local Link Removed for Guests]


Power management:

If AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement doesn't work (need to use NullCPUPowerManagement) even if you enable GenerateCStates and GeneratePStates in Chameleon, check if AppleLPC is loaded (run "kextstat" command in terminal), if it's not, apply one of the LPC patches according to your chipset (desktop/laptop ICH7, ICH8, ICH9, ICH10, Nehalem, Sandy Bridge).

If you get "No HPET(s) available" kernel panic you may need the HPET patch. The example is used on Gigabyte mobos, but it may also be needed in other mobos and laptops (adapt _CRS to return the ResourceTemplate right above).

For many Sandy Bridge systems it's also necessary to [Local Link Removed for Guests].

About power management [Local Link Removed for Guests]


USB problems:

There are many USB patches, EHCI, UHCI, ICH9 USB sleep, EHCI sleep/ownership, some are generic, some are organized by chipset. If you have problems with USB ports, if you see errors or warnings in kernel log about EHCI or UHCI, you can try these patches.


Sleep problems:

Problems with sleep are usually related to power management and USB.

If the system goes to sleep and wakes immediately, look for "Wake reason" in kernel log and edit method _PSW or remove _PRW from that device in DSDT.


CMOS reset:

Apply the RTC patch.

If you have CMOS reset after sleep/wake/reboot in Lion, you need to [External Link Removed for Guests].


Audio:

You can use HDEF (or AZAL to HDEF if you already have device AZAL) and a codec patch (ALC*) if you will use a patched AppleHDA, or if you just want to have audio information in System Profiler.

Make sure layout-id in DSDT (hex) coincides with LayoutID in AppleHDA (decimal).


DTGP is required by many patches, so you will probably need it.


IRQs is a "generic" patch, it's always used. In some cases more IRQs are added to device HPET, compare patches for various chipsets.


SBUS (SMBUS) is used to get SMBus kexts loaded.


Shutdown patches are BIOS specific, apply if the PC doesn't turn off properly.


There are other hardware specific and some "cosmetic" patches (only fix warning and remark messages in compilation, but aren't really necessary).


References (must read if you want to understand what the patches do)

[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
koreandokdo
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Aug 2014, 19:53
CPU: e7400
Motherboard: p5e
GPU: hd4350

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by koreandokdo » 27 May 2015, 08:05

Sorry, I am a total noob in DSDT stuff and patching... . Here is my question if anyone would explain it clearly to me:
I have a GA-965P-S3 mainboard. Should i just apply the patch "GA-965P-S3" to my original extracted DSDT, or do I also have to apply "AZAL to HDEF" and "ALC888" and maybe "HDEF-GIGABYTE-ALC888" too?
Does the order of applying patches actually matter?

I looked in my original (untouched) DSDT, and found 2 instances of the word "AZAL", by the way.
So please explain to me in a way that I can identify my sound problem.
Thanks in advance.
User avatar
artur-pt
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 5012
Joined: 24 May 2011, 11:04
CPU: i5
Motherboard: Lenovo
GPU: Intel

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by artur-pt » 28 May 2015, 14:54

hello

probably the patch for ur mobo .. already have the sound fix

anyway is not only dsdt patch u need .. u need also a patched applehda to ur alc

that info is all here in forum

good hack
PB Easy Note TM 86 - i5 430 M - H55M - Ram - 6 GB - Alc272 - Radeon HD 5470 512 QE/CI
Lenovo G500 - i5 3230m - HM77 - Ram - 8 GB - Conexant audio - HD 4000
[External Link Removed for Guests] - join me at irc.freenode.net/##olarila
koreandokdo
Posts: 4
Joined: 30 Aug 2014, 19:53
CPU: e7400
Motherboard: p5e
GPU: hd4350

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by koreandokdo » 29 May 2015, 15:43

artur-pt wrote:hello

probably the patch for ur mobo .. already have the sound fix

anyway is not only dsdt patch u need .. u need also a patched applehda to ur alc

that info is all here in forum

good hack
OK. Thanks a lot sir.
hyaxasa
Posts: 3
Joined: 29 Oct 2015, 08:27
CPU: i7
Motherboard: 52151
GPU: 75615

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by hyaxasa » 09 Nov 2015, 07:25

Does the order of applying patches actually matter?
[External Link Removed for Guests]
User avatar
artur-pt
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 5012
Joined: 24 May 2011, 11:04
CPU: i5
Motherboard: Lenovo
GPU: Intel

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by artur-pt » 09 Nov 2015, 08:44

hello

no .. but only use the ones u need

good hack
PB Easy Note TM 86 - i5 430 M - H55M - Ram - 6 GB - Alc272 - Radeon HD 5470 512 QE/CI
Lenovo G500 - i5 3230m - HM77 - Ram - 8 GB - Conexant audio - HD 4000
[External Link Removed for Guests] - join me at irc.freenode.net/##olarila
User avatar
mnfesq
Posts: 3
Joined: 01 Jan 2013, 05:56
CPU: i5-3210M
Motherboard: HP 1853
GPU: Intel HD4000

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by mnfesq » 29 May 2018, 18:26

Hi. I know this is an old thread but I just wanted to post to say thank you for a DSDT patch that worked on my brand new HP Envy 17-ae100 laptop. It's has a CoffeeLake CPU and when I shut down macOS, the OS would shut down but the laptop did not power down (fans and LED lights stayed on.). The Intel Shutdown patch worked. Neither MaLdOn nor RehabMan had fixes that worked, but yours did. Way to go!!!!
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14611
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

Re: DSDT patching 101

Post by MaLd0n » 29 May 2018, 18:40

[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]
29 May 2018, 18:26
Hi. I know this is an old thread but I just wanted to post to say thank you for a DSDT patch that worked on my brand new HP Envy 17-ae100 laptop. It's has a CoffeeLake CPU and when I shut down macOS, the OS would shut down but the laptop did not power down (fans and LED lights stayed on.). The Intel Shutdown patch worked. Neither MaLdOn nor RehabMan had fixes that worked, but yours did. Way to go!!!!
hey
Nice
Intel Shutdown is a Hybrid with common patch + gigabyte shutdown patch xD
Enjoy
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
zeg66
Posts: 71
Joined: 12 Jun 2018, 19:16
CPU: Ivy Bridge i7-3770
Motherboard: GA-Z77-HD3 bios F1
GPU: HD4000

DSDT Patching

Post by zeg66 » 15 Aug 2018, 09:36

If a user finds a "patch pack" for their motherboard, does it matter what bios version is installed *or* what motherboard revision they have, for example 1.0, 1.1, 3.3, etc? I am asking because there are differences between bios versions and motherboard revisions.
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14611
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

DSDT Patching

Post by MaLd0n » 15 Aug 2018, 16:03

the patch extract and apply in current version ;)
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
zeg66
Posts: 71
Joined: 12 Jun 2018, 19:16
CPU: Ivy Bridge i7-3770
Motherboard: GA-Z77-HD3 bios F1
GPU: HD4000

DSDT Patching

Post by zeg66 » 15 Aug 2018, 17:18

if you are referring to dsdt/ssdt extraction via Clover/F4, yes you are absolutely right. However I was referring to a ready-made dsdt patch-pack for a specific motherboard, for example GA-965P-S3 (three revisions 1.0, 1.1, 3.3). Maybe it doesn't matter?
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14611
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

DSDT Patching

Post by MaLd0n » 15 Aug 2018, 17:25

[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests] if you are referring to dsdt/ssdt extraction via Clover/F4, yes you are absolutely right. However I was referring to a ready-made dsdt patch-pack for a specific motherboard, for example GA-965P-S3 (three revisions 1.0, 1.1, 3.3). Maybe it doesn't matter?
same patch work for all revisions
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
zeg66
Posts: 71
Joined: 12 Jun 2018, 19:16
CPU: Ivy Bridge i7-3770
Motherboard: GA-Z77-HD3 bios F1
GPU: HD4000

DSDT Patching

Post by zeg66 » 15 Aug 2018, 18:27

is there a utility that shows if a dsdt or ssdt (in efi/clover/acpi/patched) has been actually loaded?
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14611
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

DSDT Patching

Post by MaLd0n » 15 Aug 2018, 18:39

u need extract dsdt and check if have patches
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
prist
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Oct 2018, 11:12
CPU: I5 S8
Motherboard: Gigabyte H310H M
GPU: ss

DSDT Patching

Post by prist » 06 Jul 2019, 08:47

Hi, given that the dsdt editor program is no longer available, is it possible to get information on how to patch the new MaciASL program?
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14611
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

DSDT Patching

Post by MaLd0n » 06 Jul 2019, 12:52

prist, is a same patches, work with maciasl too
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
prist
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Oct 2018, 11:12
CPU: I5 S8
Motherboard: Gigabyte H310H M
GPU: ss

DSDT Patching

Post by prist » 06 Jul 2019, 14:23

Thanks MaLd0n for the reply, but the problem is that I don't know how to apply it, I didn't find any video or reference, if by chance it's written in the forum can you paste the link?

Thank you
User avatar
MaLd0n
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14611
Joined: 05 Dec 2010, 19:35
CPU: i9-9900K
Motherboard: GA Z390 M GAMING
GPU: RX 590 8 GB
Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Contact:

DSDT Patching

Post by MaLd0n » 06 Jul 2019, 14:28

prist, [Local Link Removed for Guests]
--Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar

--Donated? Send me one Private Message
prist
Posts: 6
Joined: 31 Oct 2018, 11:12
CPU: I5 S8
Motherboard: Gigabyte H310H M
GPU: ss

DSDT Patching

Post by prist » 06 Jul 2019, 14:57

Maybe it will be the age, do I have to turn the dsdt you sent me into txt, copy the content and paste it for compilation?
Thank you

Added in 16 minutes 3 seconds:
[Local Link Removed for Guests] wrote: [Local Link Removed for Guests]
06 Jul 2019, 14:57
Maybe it will be the age, do I have to turn the dsdt you sent me into txt, copy the content and paste it for compilation?
Thank you
all ok I finally understood .... !!!
Post Reply

Return to “DSDT”