***SOME FORUM UPDATES IN THE NEXT DAYS***SOME LOGIN BUGS, JUST WAIT FINISH OF THE UPDATE AND MIGRATE PROCESS***

-->Donations via PayPal [External Link Removed for Guests] :guitar
-->Installation/Post Installation Tutorial [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Useful Links [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Olarila Images - Updated images [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Guides and Tutorials [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->Clover Folder for All Chipsets [Local Link Removed for Guests]
-->DSDT Patch Requests [Local Link Removed for Guests]

Dell PowerEdge 840

Post Reply
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

Hi,

I have a dell poweredge 840 and running win server. I can not afford a new mac server at the moment, and would like to install "mac" server, if its possible. Is there any chance that I can get i to work with the specs? I did try to install ML from USB, but got various errors. Cant waith for a reply :)


1
PE 840 QUAD CORE XEON X3210 (2.13GHZ, 2X
1
MY 1ST SERVER - SAVE UP TO 46%
1
PE840 UK EURO WITH POWER CORD
1
4GB (4X1GB SINGLE RANK DIMMS) 667MHZ
1
NO FLOPPY DRIVE
1
250GB SATA (7,200RPM) 3.5INCH HARD DRIVE
1
250GB SATA (7,200RPM) 3.5INCH HARD DRIVE
1
SAS5I/R INTERNAL CONTROLLER RAID PCIE
1
NON-HOT PLUG HARD DRIVE CAGE CHASSIS
1
48X DVD-ROM/CD-RW COMBO DRIVE
1
DISPLAY : NOT INCLUDED
1
BROADCOM TCP/IP OFFLOAD ENGINE FUNCTIONA
1
NO MOUSE(N)
1
NO KEYBOARD REQUIRED(N)
1
ENGLISH - MICROSOFT SMALL BUSINESS SERVE
1
PE840 OPENMANAGE FACTORY INSTALL AND DVD
1
UPG TO BASIC 3Y NBD PREMIER ENTERPRISE S
1
RECOMMENDED ENTERPRISE SUPPORT DECLINED.
1
NO INSTALLATION SERVICE SELECTED (CONTAC
1
BASE WARRANTY
1
1Y NBD (NEXT BUSINESS DAY) ON-SITE
1
C4 ASS R1 SAS5IR CONTROLLER EXACTLY 2 DR
1
POWEREDGE ORDER - NORWAY
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

By the info you posted, I guess it's possible.

Which errors did you get?
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

wow. That was quick response!

Well... se attached picture. I did a default (-v) boot.

[External Link Removed for Guests]
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

I've never seen something like that. At which point does it happen? Did you check the md5 of downloaded file?

I guess it's a video problem, this [External Link Removed for Guests] is on-board video, right? Maybe if you use an off-board video card.
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

And after that I did CraphicsEnabler=no wait=yes -v

and got...

[External Link Removed for Guests]

[External Link Removed for Guests]
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

The solution for this is in the guide [Local Link Removed for Guests]
If you get KP related to ApplePolicyControl.kext remove /System/Library/Extensions/AppleGraphicsControl.kext/Contents/PlugIns/ApplePolicyControl.kext
Use TransMac, more info in the link above.
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

Cassio wrote:I've never seen something like that. At which point does it happen? Did you check the md5 of downloaded file?

I guess it's a video problem, this [External Link Removed for Guests] is on-board video, right? Maybe if you use an off-board video card.
md5 = checked

Yes, its a on-board video. If I need a ned video card to get the server version going, im going to purches one. Any "cheap" recomendations?

Your support is much appreciated!
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

See my previous reply.
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

Cassio wrote:The solution for this is in the guide [Local Link Removed for Guests]


Use TransMac, more info in the link above.
You rock!! -That did work! Now two other problems... the mouse is not working (pluged in the PS2 port), and the second problem. No disk(s) is showing when I get to the screen "select the disk..."

Any sugestion for a fix?
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

The installer includes PS/2 kexts, so if it doesn't work I suggest using USB mouse.

Can you see the HD in Disk Utility? If not, configure SATA as AHCI in BIOS.
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

Cassio wrote:The installer includes PS/2 kexts, so if it doesn't work I suggest using USB mouse.

Can you see the HD in Disk Utility? If not, configure SATA as AHCI in BIOS.
Mouse solved by using a USB one.

The BIOS setting are a little more difficult. I can not se a option of "AHCI". Under sata controller I have the option "ATA mode" and "off". Is this where it stops? :(

FYI I have to more disks connected than the spec shows in the first post. Does this have anything to do with the problem?
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

Do you see the HDs in Disk Utility or not?

Run System Info under Windows and post a screenshot [Local Link Removed for Guests]
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

Cassio wrote:Do you see the HDs in Disk Utility or not?

Run System Info under Windows and post a screenshot [Local Link Removed for Guests]
o

Yes, I do get to the Disk utility. The only option I get is CD rom and the USB stick. I have tried for hours to tweak the BIOS settings, and hoping that the HD would apear, but no.

[External Link Removed for Guests]

I cant get the system info to save on file. I took a picture of it insted - hope it helps.

[External Link Removed for Guests]
[External Link Removed for Guests]

Today my 4 HD`s are connected to the SAS controller, and NOT directly to the MB. I dont have the right cables to test it, so I need to get back to that, if thats the case.
[External Link Removed for Guests]

by the way... I found a link that has screenshots of my BIOS. If you have time, and I dont minde if you take a peek ;)
[External Link Removed for Guests]

If you a sugestion what to do, Im more than happy to try it!
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

The "System Info" I talked about is the app in the link I gave you, there's a Windows version.

I guess you'll have to connect the OS X HD directly in the mobo.
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

[External Link Removed for Guests]

Ok. In that case I will need to buy cables and try again next week. Thanks for your help so far :)
User avatar
Cassio
Olarila Staff
Olarila Staff
Posts: 3765
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 22:53

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by Cassio »

We have reports of LSI Logic working in Mac OS, but it's not your device [Local Link Removed for Guests]

If you use the mobo SATA ports it should work.
ASUS N53Jq • CPU: Intel Core i7-740QM 1.73GHz • RAM: 6,0GB • HD: 500GB • GPU: GeForce GT 425M 1GB 1920x1080 • OS: [External Link Removed for Guests] • Linux Mint 15 • Windows 8
keneil01
Posts: 9
Joined: 26 Jul 2012, 17:16

Re: Dell PowerEdge 840

Post by keneil01 »

Thanks a million for beeing so helpfull. I will buy the right cabel and report back next week. Have a nice weekend.
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”